Monday, April 16, 2012


HC:
CK, your trail mix is mega healthy compared to the snacks I eat. When I read that as being your slip up or the green tea ice cream..... girrrrrrl if you knew what I ate for snacks you'd scold me harder than you just scolded miss Tania here! I got cookie dough flavored ice cream downstairs with cookie dough ribbons and chunks and choco chips too. And doritos. And Doctor P. But shshhshshhshsshhhh i didn't even wanna say nothin' cuz I know what your reaction's gonna be!!
 
^ CK.
Oh, and I had KFC for dinner and ice cream cake for dessert today waaaahhh!
 
CK:
LOL!!! Oh THANK you HC for that fabulous gif!!! <it was a gif, now it's a photo>
I love me my Maestro (especially when he gets all manly tough-guy and stuff) yuuuuuummmyyy
(Not easy to do in long hair and a frilly shirt, I might add! LOL)

Honey - you eat what you wanna eat, darlin' - it's your body and you get to feed it exactly what you want! Calories are calories whether from trail mix and green tea ice cream or KFC and cookie dough ice cream.Which is why I'm still a chubette in spite of my good intentions.

I don't aim to convert ANYBODY - takes more energy than I have to spare anyhoo.
 
I must point out though, that the noted and unusual health of MJ's arteries (no plaque) and the good condition of his heart according to the autopsy <sigh> can only be in part due to his long years of healthy eating (vegetarian at times and calorie-restriction when he chose to fast) and very active physicality. I think it's too late for me, but maybe not for you youngsters.
We can learn from that too.
 
HC:
 
 
oooooh I love Maestro too. All the time, any time he can come and "scare" me.
 
I must say too I am usually pretty good with how I eat but it was my stepgrandma's birthday so we had lots of goodies about but normally I don't eat too much of that. I grew up eating wholesome homemade meals too so now that I'm grown I treat myself to junk food from tim to time since I didn't have it as a youngster. (which is a good thing) everybody should be careful I think but it's also okay to have treats sometimes! MJ always loved to have some KFC himself. Too much makes me sick anyhow.

CK:
Hee hee! loveitloveitloveit

And then right after those two faces, when he gets REAL INTENSE....
Go Maestro! Go Maestro! Go Maestro!
Sock their knockers off!
 
HC:
I think I need to watch Ghosts again. Just sayin'. I've been feeling a want, NO, A NEEEEEEEED, to watch it lately.

CK:
Funny you should say that -
MJStar sent out the link to the VH1 "Making Of" special this morning - which I had to stop and watch again coz I needed it bad - If you haven't downloaded this little gem, make sure you do coz there's so much meat there.

I just ADORE his scenes in his trailer as The Mayor when he's speaking in his own deep voice and spouting profound about dance...

Shoot, I adore everything in it.
So awesome too to see his body in the "performance capture" mode when they animated the skeleton - his moves are so specific and clean, made even more so by the skin-tight catsuit he had to wear. All that gaming video he shot was great rehearsal for that animation process. (Needed a booty shot though - would have been breathtaking!!)

Again he leaves me shaking my head when he describes his intention in Ghosts as simply fun entertainment -
 
Thanks to the recent brilliant reminder by Willa and Joie on Dancing With The Elephant, we know there was so much more to it, and more to discover as we watch it many more times. I want more "behind the scenes" footage and pray that the Estate can come up with something a little faster than 25 years later...
 
RB:
WHY do you believe MJ downplayed his intent with Ghosts and other things, CK? Willa made an interesting observation recently about what she believes MJ meant when he used the word "escapism"--it was really about time and space coming together at a single point--something great art can do. She interprets his otherwise somewhat vapid, "escapism is what they want"...
 
CK:
Well - regarding Ghosts in particular, while I shake my head in wonder, I also think that MJ realized full well that he could not make a polemic out of any creation of his that contained a message, however subtle, concerning his personal struggles against racial bias, lies from the media and "fear of the different".

If he introduced it as a "message" piece, a harangue against the prejudices he had faced, against bullying and name-calling, it would have been a hard sell to get anyone to look at the film. The critics would have reviewed it with claws out and it was too gentle a piece to get that kind of treatment. He was wise to market it the way he did AND LET THE MESSAGE SELL ITSELF, allow the subtext to seep in to the consciousness of the people who "got it" and "got him", spread by word of mouth (which I think it did) and give a more enticing gateway to get the viewer to look at it.

"Come see a fun piece of fluff by the King Of Pop! See state-of-the-art special effects that have never been done before! Laugh! Sing! Dance! Cry!"

It's always harder to sell a moral.

He reserved his polemics for social issues (Man In The Mirror, Earth Song) but I think also knew that too heavy a hand might possibly turn off many viewers he was trying to reach. He had to rope them in first using his own wonderful music and his own personal magnetism, and hope that the respect and love he had earned around the world would do the rest of the work.
A gentle and loving, somewhat restrained, but very concerned messenger to the end.

Does this make any sense?
 
RB:
It makes complete and utter sense, Chris. I get it now. Perfect sense! It belongs in a blog.